NECO Grading System 2023 in Nigeria

NECO or The National Examination Council of Nigeria is an approved educational system that was permitted by the federal government of Nigeria in 2001. It was created in 1999 but approved a couple of years later. In Nigeria there are two types of grading scales, one is the West African Examination Council [WAEC] and the other one is The National Examination Council of Nigeria [NECO]. Based on the classes, institutions can follow any of these systems of grading.

NECO Grading System

The National Examination Council of Nigeria [NECO] system controls the Senior Secondary Certificate Examination and the General Certificate examination of Nigeria. NECO grading system considered the lenient grading system for the students. NECO grading system is attached down below:

Read more: NECO Timetable SSCE

In terms of CGPA, NECO grading system looks like these:

Grade Scale Grade Description US Grade
A1 1.00 – 1.99 Excellent A+
B2 2.00 – 2.99 Very Good A
B3 3.00 – 3.99 Good B
B4 4.00 – 4.99 Credit B
C5 5.00 – 5.99 Credit C
C6 6.00 – 6.99 Credit C
D7 7.00 – 7.99 Pass D
E8 8.00 – 8.99 Pass D
F9 9.00 Fail F

In terms of number based GPA, NECO grading system looks like these:

0 to 49 – Fail (F)

50 to 59 – Pass (P)

60 to 79 – Credit (C)

80 to 100 – Excellent (A)

Read more: NECO GCE Result Online

3 Major Examinations under NECO Grading System

Right now in Nigeria, under the grading system of NECO, three major examinations are held regularly. These are:

Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (SSCE): In Nigeria, the government offers six years of basic education. Three years for Junior Secondary Education. Though the mathematics courses may not be needed in higher education, both the mathematics and English language course are there for all the students. And then the students seats for the SSCE.

Junior Secondary Certificate Examination (JSCE): JSCE exams held at the final or third year of junior secondary education in federal colleges or secondary schools. Under the state government, the Junior Secondary Certificate Examination (JSCE) is held.

National Common Entrance Examination (NCEE): after the 6th year of basic education, students who want to join the Federal Unity Colleges, students have to sit for an entrance examination. This is also called the National Common Entrance Examination. Students of Nigeria, have to seat for the two annual exams to have a seat at the Federal Unity Colleges.

Check also: NECO GCE Registration Form

All these three (SSCE, JSCE, NCEE) exams are under the NECO grading system. The good thing is that this grading system is very student-friendly so that they don’t have to carry any extra pressure.


Ubali hussaini

I am the founder and editor of I love to share education news from various sources to keep readers informed.

Related Articles

Back to top button